Arkansas Electrical Characterization Laboratory was started in 2004 at the Center for Semiconductor Physics in Nanostructures (CSPIN), a Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (MRSEC) supported by the National Science Foundation (NSF). The laboratory focuses on molecular beam epitaxial (MBE) growth, electronic and magnetic properties of self-assembled laterally ordered III-V semiconductor quantum wires and quantum dots, narrow band gap InAs and InSb materials with high electron drift velocity, III-nitride materials and Mn based III-V diluted semiconductor compounds. The primary goal is to study the physics of nanoscaled materials and provide a solid foundation for creating and improving solid-state devices.

A significant part of our time is focused on education and on professional skills development in new student generations. Our goal is to prepare students for their future successful career by becoming the leading experts in the field of the material science, physics and nanotechnology.